I Think That Field is on Fire

I hate Kosovo.

Let’s be clear here: I do not hate Kosovars, I have no quibble with their independence, I honestly don’t know enough to make a judgement (although my eighth grade self somewhat remembers coverage interfering with TGIF).

But, this country almost killed me.

Or at the very least almost left me abandoned in a thunderstorm in a border town with Montenegro after over 10 hours in a combination of buses, taxis and some guy’s car.

One of the most amazing things about traveling overland, or at all, in somewhat more bizarre locales is the spontaneity of discovering things off the beaten path. It’s an amazingly thrilling task, using nothing but hand motions and horrible butchering of locations’ names, to get where you need to go.

Part of my partner P and I’s three-month trip through the former Yugoslavia was built on this adventure, and over a month in we thought we had it down.

Leaving rural Montenegro was hard enough, but once we got to a bus station, we were sure it was smooth sailing. When the bus just stopped and everyone got off at the border, however, we knew we were in a bit of trouble. Whether through our mistake or theirs, we didn’t understand that although we got the bus that says it goes to Kosovo, the one at the end of the day…doesn’t.

After a bit of not-so-quiet cursing, we figured out we could hail a cab, through the impending storm, up and over the mountain pass and into Kosovo. Done. Fine. The sun was setting.

Stepping out of a cab has never felt so risky. Running into the dark bus station parking lot, getting soaked, I put on my best: ‘Oh God I’m so lost’ slash ‘please play into the gender stereotype of the little lost blonde girl right now’ slash ‘it’s almost 11pm have mercy’ face.

Something motivated me toward two men in suits that were arguing with a driver. Their bus said Pristina. I had to get on this bus. At first, they told me no. Everyone told me no. I turned back to P, almost in tears, when one of the men hollered to us: “COME!”

Okay strange man, let’s go.

So I sat, hugging my huge backpack on my lap, praying that this bus would somehow end up in the right place, and avoiding the bizarre looks of fellow passengers (this was a tour bus on its way back from Germany, I later figured out).

My nerves were jangling and I couldn’t relax. I looked out the window.

There was a field on fire.

We’re talking ON. FIRE. And not a small fire. Acres and acres of flame. I looked around trying to gauge the appropriate response. Finding none, I turned to P to affirm my shock – only to find him happily snoozing away.

After three more hours, not having been asked for any form of payment and wishing the suited men a farewell at some unmarked highway spot, we made it to Pristina and literally jogged to the hostel.

And there, on Avenue Bill Clinton, I looked up, my jaw dropped, and I laughed:

IMG_8453

***

This post was inspired by today’s Daily Prompt: Share a time when you narrowly avoided disaster. Photographers, artists, poets: show us ESCAPE.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Unwritten.. | gypsy thoughts ..
  2. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | RealMoney
  3. By the Skin of Your Teeth | Geek Ergo Sum
  4. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | Awl and Scribe
  5. of aggression « Anawnimiss
  6. The Great Escape | The Ambitious Drifter
  7. Narrowly avoiding disaster | Angel Frouk
  8. Escape | Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  9. The Fact We Live May Be An Accident | The Jittery Goat
  10. My Teeth’s Skin | charlottesville winter
  11. S. Thomas Summers | I Bid the Trees to Move
  12. If I want some serious adventure I will watch an R18 film | thoughtsofrkh
  13. T-Bone Steak | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  14. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth « cognitive reflection
  15. CRASH! Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  16. It’s a Big Deal If It’s Your Problem | The Thoughts’ Outlet
  17. Almost Normal Takeoff | Kansa Muse
  18. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | Basically Beyond Basic
  19. No One Gets Out Alive | Finale to an Entrance
  20. The Lurker’s List | An Escape and a Lesson
  21. Curse of the Bed Bunk! | The Number FiftyTwo
  22. LIFE CHANGING GIFTS | hastywords
  23. Daily Prompt: Skinnin’ | One Starving Activist
  24. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of your Teeth | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. Daily Prompt: Close Calls | A Good One
  26. The bus and my bag | Life is great
  27. My Old Dog Fell Down the Steps But He Got Up
  28. Near Mishap | Flowers and Breezes
  29. Beauty & Innocence | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  30. Daily Prompt: By the Skin of Your Teeth | A Mixed Bag
  31. Daily Prompt: Photography Challenge – ESCAPE | Nicola Kirk
  32. JUST A FEW INCHES | SERENDIPITY
  33. Facing Danger | A mom’s blog
  34. The Escape | I Write Therefore I Am
  35. Dear Addiction, It’s Time To Say Our Final “Goodbye”……. | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  36. Bus slipping away | crookedeyebrows
  37. By the Skin of Your Teeth | The Nameless One
  38. Almost… | Retrofocus
  39. Escape Has Many Faces…..(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  40. Surfer Rob does not always think things through | Rob’s Surf Report
  41. Death waits all | Emotional Fitness
  42. Escape | johnny ojanpera
  43. Escape- Daily Prompt | The Rider
  44. How Smoking Saved My Life | 61 Musings
  45. Almost . . . But Not Quite | meanderedwanderings
  46. Dear Addiction, It’s Time To Say Our Final “Goodbye”……. | *Recovery Ramblins Blog Of ~ Author Catherine Lyon*
  47. The story of MM, Helga and the flying car. | Multifarious meanderings
  48. The Great Escape | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  49. Peril Atop Mount Timpanogas: An Adventure to Last a Lifetime | Odds and End Thoughts

5 thoughts on “I Think That Field is on Fire

  1. Pingback: The Fact We Live May Be An Accident | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Surfer Rob does not always think things through | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: of aggression « Anawnimiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: By the Skin of your Teeth | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Master Of (Avoiding) Disaster | Edward Hotspur

Leave a comment