Buffalo Nickel

2006.

Just back from studying abroad in El Salvador – reeling from my first real experience of confronting poverty, of cultural immersion, of building communities of hope out of a shattered, violent recent history.

Finding my place back in the rich, resort-like campus of my college. Worried I wouldn’t find where I fit again, after such experiences I still struggle to put into words.

Late nights spent alone in the gardens, under the palms, just thinking. Listening and thinking – without resolution.

Dancing as hard as I could at amazing concerts, the windows rolled down all the way into SF.

Reconnecting, expanding, and moving in with eleven (yes eleven) of the best people I’ve known.

Late nights of laughter out in the shed, kitchen sing-a-longs, and learning how to move with and among one another.

Realizing that you never really know exactly where or how you fit, but that you become more flexible, always finding a new, exciting, more comfortable ways of being.

Falling hard in love for the first time, and feeling those contours around the hard shell I cultivated around myself.

Biking through the ‘darkside’ after class, smelling the honeysuckle and perfect warmth.

Having absolutely no idea where my life will take me.

IMG_0027

***

The Art of the Everyday – February 25: Buffalo Nickel, Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

Leave a Reply

