Boringly Normal

 

We all have that person.

That person who does everything, goes everywhere and seems to just, somehow, be and do all the things.

If we’re lucky, that person is also someone we befriend, admire and perhaps get taken along for the ride. Otherwise, the evil-jealousy-juices can get nasty.

However, I contradict the construct of the ‘boringly normal.’ I know some amazing people who create magic out of everything – from taking the kids to school or their morning coffee.

Some of my favorite writers have found unparalleled depth and nuance in a blade of grass, or the stoop in front of their house.

This doesn’t mean we all stop dreaming of other things, but there can be a playful excitement to ‘normal’ lives.

I’ve been pretty lucky –  I’ve been given some amazing opportunities, and I’ve created even more with others.

This week, one where I worked 9-5, dug out the car (twice), paid the bills (ow), and generally ‘kept on’ – it ended on a unique and amazing note:

I got my first tattoo.

At the age of 28.8 years, in the midst of decisions about my career, life and locale – a group of us got wonderful, nature-centric memorials for our friend Kristin, and for many other layers of our lives.

You nosy-nancys will get to see more later, once it’s been shaded – but it’s really incredible.

Plus, whenever I’m feeling down, or put upon, or scared, I can now say: it’s you and me, chickadee. [hint as to content for the curious].

It is also (even in the past 24 hours) a vivid reminder that those we encounter are often more than they seem, even, or especially, if their unique power, vulnerability and influence aren’t immediately visible.

And always, far from ‘normal.’

***

The Art of the Everyday – February 22: Far from normal – Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

2 thoughts on “Boringly Normal

    • Thanks, Burt. It’s so crazy though – my body is different! But I love it, and it’s such a good reminder of lots of good things. Let’s see each other soon – kay?

Leave a Reply

