Week of Happy: Craft Day

Crafting is awesome. As a creative type, but not an “artist” per se, I love the accessibility of the craft-genre.

Photo on 2014-02-02 at 11.41

Everything from basic painting, to sewing, to collaging is crafty, fun and expressive.

My main project right now is this pillow, me for scale:

Photo on 2014-02-02 at 11.59 #3

Through a combination of embroidery and cross-stitch I hope to finish sometime this year… it’s big y’all.

I found this pre-stamped fabric at my local flea market and the design spoke to me. I used yarn I had for the green embroidery, left over from making a friend’s wedding ring pillow for her ceremony.

I’m using dark blue embroidery thread for the corners, but then what? I’m thinking a combination of mustard yellow and burnt reds for the accents. Who knows? Stay tuned, stay crafty.

***

The Art of the Everyday – February 8: Week of Happy – Enjoy this series of simple (and some not so simple) things that make me happy while I’m on vacation!

Leave a Reply

