Week of Happy: Pope Day!

I confess. I may be Pope-obsessed.

Just look at his FACE:

pope 1And his SELFIE:

pope selfie

 

And THIS KID:

pope_francis_boy_afp

And being generally EPIC:

francis-slum-feet_2510124b

 

Specifically with this week away with my partner, an atheist, I am thankful that a leader (THE leader) in my Church gets it – that good is good.

I so often get asked “how do you do it?!?!” as if being with my partner has to be some monumental struggle. I can’t imagine being with anyone else, and am so thankful he is with me. The conversations we have are challenging, encouraging, and rewarding. They are anything but easy.

If I wanted easy, I wouldn’t have chosen to be Catholic. Or to go into social work. Or the academy. Or move to rural Maine.

Come to think of it, I hate easy.

“They complain,” the Pope said in his homily, because they say, “If he is not one of us, he cannot do good. If he is not of our party, he cannot do good.” And Jesus corrects them: “Do not hinder him, he says, let him do good.” The disciples, Pope Francis explains, “were a little intolerant,” closed off by the idea of ​​possessing the truth, convinced that “those who do not have the truth, cannot do good.” “This was wrong . . . Jesus broadens the horizon.” Pope Francis said, “The root of this possibility of doing good – that we all have – is in creation” ~ Il Papa Francis

***

The Art of the Everyday – February 4: Week of Happy – Enjoy this series of simple (and some not so simple) things that make me happy while I’m on vacation!

 

Leave a comment