Week of Happy: Star Trek Day

Captain-Janeway-captain-janeway-fan-club-10921140-1188-1498

Voyager is so underrated. Sure, sure, DS9 has the international relation/ethnic war/intertwined universes/gods going for it; TNG is just classic; and The Original started it all, (we’re not gunna touch Enterprise people, let it lie), but Voyager has Janeway.

As a young girl I used to love watching her be a strong, disciplined leader – and a woman! Raised by a TNG Trekkie, I’ve loved sci-fi and fantasy from the first time my dad read me The Hobbit. As my fellow nerdgirls can attest, there is a sad dearth of awesome women, let alone in lead roles, in most of the genre.

I think this tide is turning, but nothing can replace those 90s afternoons rushing home to squeeze in an episode if my mom wasn’t paying attention (no TV on school nights!).

If nothing else, that hair! And her hand acting is phenomenal.

***

The Art of the Everyday – February 2: Week of Happy – Enjoy this series of simple (and some not so simple) things that make me happy while I’m on vacation!

Leave a Reply

