The Book Pile(s)

2014tbrpilercAs if I didn’t have enough to do, right?

But whatever, excuses. I laugh at you.

What is that? What is that? Oh… Yes… I hear you. You there with the smirky smart-ass grin. You, the piles and piles and slightly smaller piles of books malingering around my house.

And believe it or not, that’s not all. The incessant mocking of my books inspired me to not only keep up with my annual goal of 60 books this year, but stumbling across a community challenge has also given the list direction.

For 2014, I will work on my piles first…but obviously the piles from the library as well, I  just can’t help myself! For this challenge, all books have to be 2013 or older, with the goal of actually plowing through your collection: “Any genre, length or format of book counts, as long as it is a book that’s been sitting on your shelf for some time now.”

So far here’s where I’m at (I’ll work on creating The List as soon as I can wade through my piles):

1. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
2. Home by Toni Morrison
3. Grandville by Bryan Talbot
4. A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra
5. Help Thanks Wow by Anne Lamott

and what I’m currently reading:

6. Viktor Frankl Recollections by Viktor Frankl
7. How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

Let’s do this.

***

The Art of the Everyday, January 23 – A revisit to a 2013 theme, Lectio Divina.

Leave a Reply

