Undercover Flea

Flea malls are the only type of mall I like.

Rural Maine is a treasure trove of weird, awesome, useless and unique crap stuff you really need.

The photos above are just a sweet, sweet slice of some things I’ve come across: oil sheen glass hanging of Dwight D. Eisenhower? Obviously. Fifty Planet Hollywood shot glasses? Meets an everyday need. Cardinal’s Blessing? I’ve been meaning to re-buy some indulgences.

Beyond the bizarre, I’ve found some of my favorite ‘things’ here – my Plymouth Rock Commemorative plate (spoon plate for the stove), wooden map of the bahamas (bookshelf accent), and some replacement 50s-style champagne glasses that match our wine glasses (I break things).

Beyond meeting my everyday need for the weird, and elevated Jesus snow globes, I love looking through these objects – cast off, or sold with obvious love. All pieces of the physical life we build, and rebuild, throughout our lifetimes.

And I’ll always go back for more.

***

The Art of the Everyday, January 16 – Homemade: A revisit of one of last year’s themes, where I explore my new community – a fitting tribute to my one-year-aversary in Maine!

One thought on “Undercover Flea

  1. Pingback: Week of Happy: Craft Day | Manresa, Maine

Leave a Reply

