Out of Control

I was walking down Rampart Street, and the heavens just opened – I was soaked in less than ten seconds.

Running through the streets of Antiguo Cuscatlan I took off my flip flops (barefoot in downtown San Salvador) in some vain attempt to get to a roof faster. Didn’t work.

Staring at P’s four wheel drive Subaru two days ago as it just sat, cock-eyed, half in a ditch while the hell that is ‘wintry mix’ rained down.

There’s nothing like epic weather to make you feel helpless.

And honestly, there’s absolutely nothing you can do.

I’ve been back in Maine for six days and have logged two calls to AAA for stuck vehicles, one to a new ‘sand guy’, called out of work twice because I couldn’t get out of my driveway, and once worked from the local cafe because of a power outage in my neighborhood.

But damn, it’s sure pretty.

IMG_2689

***

The Art of the Everyday, January 7: Helpless – that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

One thought on “Out of Control

  1. Pingback: Blind Leading The Blind | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

