Resolve

It is that time of year.

Each year I make resolutions, some I keep, some I don’t. In many ways I’m incredibly disciplined, in others, not so much.

I’m not sure how I feel about resolutions or why I’m so compelled to make them. Perhaps to motivate me to do something I already should be doing, or just to make a list to check off.

I’d like to think it’s something bigger, with a goal of intentional personal development, and there is a touch of that in there.

I always set up a goal of reading 60 books (this year 42! so close…), being better with my fitness (this year I did okay thanks to yoga), and something fun (2013 was ‘drink more champagne;’ check. Aaaand check.).

But resolutions should be stronger – to resolve. To settle or find resolution to; to decide firmly on a course of action; the firm dedication to do something.

With that in mind, I’m taking the task a little more seriously on this trip around the sun.

Thanks to the WordPress staff I stumbled on a challenge I think I’m ready for:

Writing every day (all 365) of 2014.

Phew that’s scary.

But with a little structure I don’t think it’s by any means impossible. I’m not saying it’ll be good, I’m just saying it can be done.

I’ll continue to use the themes of my blog to guide my responses, and hopefully stretch some un/underused writing muscles in the process.

Other than that, as always:

  • Read 60 books
  • Complete a 30 day fitness challenge (and write about it!)
  • Travel once a month (January through April are already planned!)

Here we go…

Leave a Reply

