Allegiant

Snail mail is one of my most favorite things.

This past week I got TWO real life things I could hold in my hand from two beloved friends. One a glorious note; the other, an unexplained book.

Not that it needed any explaining, however, being the final in the Divergent series by Veronica Roth that a visiting friend got me hooked on earlier this year.

Like the others in the series, but somehow even faster, I devoured this read, wherein our heroine, Tris, finds her small dystopian world blown apart (again. of course).

“…I just let the silence stretch out between us. It’s the only adequate response to what he just told me, the only thing that does the tragedy justice instead of patching it up hastily and moving on.”

But despite some of the formulaic sci-fi themes (discrimination, mad-max survival, evil governments), and a not so light dash of barely-veiled Christian themes, I found myself again rooting for Tris and excited that a young, female character was portrayed with such flawed strength.

As is also the nature of the final book in a series, Allegiant also dealt with ‘wrapping up’ the characters – accomplished by the alternating narrative between Tris and her boyfriend, Four. While I didn’t enjoy his voice as much, and the alternating was a bit bumbled at times, the pay off at the end made sense.

“I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.”

And like in her previous books, Roth uses her characters to plumb the depths of teendom while fighting a war for everything you’ve ever known (melodrama much?).

Allegiant  was a fast, fun read, with surprising nuggets of wisdom that feels hard-won, not just by Roth’s characters, but by the author herself.

I often found myself thinking that I would never have come to those conclusions at 16, but I also didn’t watch my entire family die or go through brutal initiation processes….so.

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.
But sometimes it doesn’t.
Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.”

allegiant-book-cover-high-res

***

Dispatch this week to Bustos!

 

Leave a Reply

