Johari Window

pftpep-s3ep12

 

“Prompts for the Promptless” is a weekly prompt link up, focused on sharing perspectives and expanding minds. 

Introspection: one of my favorite pass-times.

Whether deriving from natural self-centeredness or a deep desire to understand this bumbling sack ‘o guts I’ve got for this trip, I return to a variety of models and attempts at self-understanding.

This week, the challenge is not only to see what I perceive about myself, but to also see if I can intuit what others see as well. It’s almost tailor-made for the theme of my blog!

The Johari Window exercise is rooted in cognitive psychology and prompts the individual, usually as part of a group, to take a list of adjectives and choose a few that lie within each category, or “perspective”:

  1. Open area: The things that you know about yourself, that others also know about you.

  2. Blind area: The things you don’t know about yourself, but others know.

  3. Hidden area: The things you know about yourself that others do not know.

  4. Unknown self: The things no one knows about you.

At first instinct, I’m going to assign some adjectives to each group for myself:

Open area: The things that you know about yourself, that others also know about you.
                    Able, Confident, Extroverted, Independent, Organized, Self-Assertive, Smart

Blind area: The things you don’t know about yourself, but others know.
                    [This one is hard…] Proud, Tense, Brave, Dependable, Friendly

Hidden area: The things you know about yourself that others do not know.
                    [Also hard, pretty open…] Accepting, Sentimental, Self-Conscious

Unknown self: The things no one knows about you.
                    Some of the adjectives that were not applied to me: Adaptable, Calm, Cheerful, Clever, Energetic, Giving, Powerful, Reflective, Logical, Loving, Shy, Spontaneous, Warm, Wise, Witty

Some first reactions:

1. I was much more apt to put negative connotations in the “Blind” area regarding the perception others have of me.
2. I do still feel like a pretty open, self-reflective person – I don’t “Hide” much.
3. I do want to do this in a discernment or close-knit group.

It would be phenomenally interesting to do this as part of a group – seeing which areas overlap in description, and where are powerful areas for breaking down my/our facades vs. letting our real selves rule.

Your vision will become clear only when you can look into your own heart. Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakes.

~Carl Jung

Leave a Reply

