Clean is the New Way

This weekend was one of domestic tasks. I’m not sure what it is about the changing of seasons, but something in me is begging for a routine. For a world of order and a scuz-free shower.

IMG_2115

As I threw in the final of four loads of laundry, swept and vacuumed the never-ending pine needles, and listened to P splitting and stacking wood, I started to feel like my corner of the world was just a little bit more habitable.

I long avoided the super-cleaner instincts that run deep in my blood, but in the past few years my mother’s influence has caught up with me.

While I for sure do not heavy clean each week – I most assuredly do not ever polish the floor boards as was my task in childhood – I now appreciate how great fresh sheets and a (somewhat) tidy house can do for my mood.

Living working/student poor in large cities with many, many roommates increased my tolerance for grime and compromise on decor (I guess that weird skeletor painting does add something to the bonus room…), but I love having my own space.

Space where I can add P and I’s collected tchotchkes, art, books, books and books.

Where I get to decide when to do (or not) the dishes.

Although if I’m truly, deeply honest, I may also be procrastinating (oh hey, PhD applications are due in a little over a month?!?)….but look! Look at the shiny floor!

***

My creation for this week’s writing challenge: pick out the 4th and 14th words (that aren’t “the” or “an”) from your favorite blog. Drop them into this phrase:

“_____ is the new _____.”

There’s your post title. 

And, check out other participants!

18 thoughts on “Clean is the New Way

  1. Pingback: Seventh is the New King | Anniemation Floe

  2. Pingback: A305mc activity, 15/10/2013 | zxl

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time is the New Jackass | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Color is the new expression | Processing the life

    • It’s always a scramble, no matter the task I find! Maybe if I wasn’t cleaning… 😉 Thanks for writing and sharing and generally being awesome!

  5. Pingback: Poverty’s Streets are the new Manhattan #poetry #photography | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Grandmother is the new Kid. | My Atheist Blog

  7. Pingback: Google is the new between….um yeah thanks Daily Prompt | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: Just Leave Me a Clone! part one: Rob is the New Rob | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: (Whatever) Is The New (Whatever) | Edward Hotspur

  10. Pingback: YOU is the new PERSPECTIVE | My Kaleidoscope

  11. Pingback: Helm is the new win (fiction) | Life is great

Leave a Reply

