CSAdventures

Last night I cooked all the things.

All.

The.

Things.

IMG_1263

There’s nothing quite like picking up that CSA on Tuesdays but I am hurting for a good turnip and/or beet recipe, y’all.

My creativity lately has been absolutely poured into work where I’ve been planning huge summer events at the Garden. This leaves me pretty tapped out at the end of the day in terms of both time and ideas.

When that fridge fills to the brim the night before the next round, though – something has to be done.

In a stroke of luck, absolutely everything I made came out good enough that I want to share.

First, knowing I would need it to marinade, I put some pork chops in the ever-magical Soyaki to marinade for Bibimbap (aka Korean bowl of awesome). Then I dug into prepping and peeling all the turnips and beets to roast with chopped fresh ginger, oil, sugar, salt and pepper:

IMG_1502

I then started on making some Summer Squash and Carrot Curry Soup (like the kind they serve at Indian Buffets) to use up at least one of the gigantic yellow squashes (I added more spice: whole black peppercorns, whole coriander seeds, smoked paprika and bay leaf):

IMG_1503

Once those were well under way, why not make another loaf of Zucchini Bread?

IMG_1505

And more quick Asian Pickles? Sure! (leave out bay leaves)

IMG_1374

Fresh Blueberry Salsa you say? Why yes!

IMG_1504

Phew. By that time I’d switched out the now blended soup for the onion, garlic, eggplant, green beans and green bell pepper that make up the veggies for the Bibimbap (I know I’m missing an egg). After some rice and grilling up the chops, time for dinner!

 

***

I’m always looking for people’s favorite recipes, especially in this time of bounty – please share!

One thought on “CSAdventures

  1. Pingback: Roberts Farm Preserve | Manresa, Maine

Leave a Reply

