Necessities

Daily Prompt: Five Items - Revisiting a classic question, what are the five items you must have on a desert island?

Chapstick, Paul Simon’s Graceland, my journal, my Leatherman and water purifying pump/Nalgene combo thing my dad gave me.

Or at least that’s how 17 year old me often answered.

Still not too far off, but now I just can’t think of necessities in quite the same way. Also, what did I think I was going to do with that album? Play frisbee?

As an adult, the novelty of this question has worn off for me, because most desert islands have wifi.

Beyond that kind of bizarre, kind of sad fact, I also don’t really need those things. Okay, yes, practically I might die without fresh water and/or a sharp tool when left alone in the wilderness, but what I find as I get older is that I actually need very little.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not above some good old fashioned retail therapy, but what I need, I mean need, is community.

(And gin. Sweet, sweet gin. You think there’s a bar on this island? I bet there’s a bar on this island, I bet it’s a swim up bar! I love those.)

Community that comes in all shapes and sizes from my blood relations, to my partner, to my geographic neighbors, to my friends across the globe. A safe and loving and challenging group(s) that don’t let me float through life, but deeply value it for the wonder of being alive.

That constantly make me want to be a better woman, to help me in that effort, and throw in a few (okay many) ridiculous escapades to remind me not to take it all too seriously.

So in the end, I take them. All of them. In a great big snuggle pile on this island.

(With a great bartender.)

***

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Under the Monkey Tree
  2. Daily Prompt: Five Items | soulfoodwords
  3. Charge your phone | Photos to inspire you
  4. Alone in a Deserted Island. | paperdollsletter
  5. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Basically Beyond Basic
  6. Five Items | Geek Ergo Sum
  7. 5 Items | Jab and Cross followed by Cross and Stitch
  8. Five Items | Insanitree
  9. Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  10. Undeniable | Active Army Wife
  11. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Joanne Lynn
  12. What Five Things Would You Not Want? (This Prompt Is Stupid) | The Jittery Goat
  13. The simple bare necessities of life | RPMAS
  14. Necessities | The Magic Black Book
  15. Daily Prompt: Five Items « cognitive reflection
  16. 5 Elements of Baking | A Crazy Chef
  17. Daily Prompt: My Five Must Have’s | Musings&Rants
  18. Desert Island Day Dreaming | Eyes to Heart
  19. CAstaway – True Story | crookedeyebrows
  20. My Desert Island Necessities | Evelinasec’s Blog
  21. Across the Blank Gap
  22. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Musical Foodie Love
  23. Media to Survive? | Across the Blank Gap
  24. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  25. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Five Items – Really?
  26. Daily Prompt: Queen of the Island | One Starving Activist
  27. Daily Prompt : Five Items.. A HELP SIGN ? | LoudThoughtsVoicedOut
  28. Daily prompt: Five things | ferwam
  29. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Finding Life
  30. Deserted Island? Yes please! | Not a Punk Rocker
  31. The Lurker’s List | Necessities On A Deserted Island
  32. NEEDS VERSUS WANTS? | Emotional Fitness
  33. DP Challenge: Five Must Have Items (Smoke Monster Ball Puncher is a Must!) « Morning Pages
  34. Five Items | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Memory Bank of the Nocturnal
  36. The Bear Necessities… | Haiku By Ku
  37. Daily Prompt: Five Items » My Life, My Way, My Words
  38. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Wordz on a Page
  39. Castaway |
  40. Passport to Life | Upstairs Productions
  41. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Awl and Scribe
  42. Five Items | Finale to an Entrance
  43. Natural Selection | bronte’s world
  44. DAILY PROMPT: PACKING FOR THE ISLAND – A PERFECT WORLD | SERENDIPITY
  45. The Courage to Start | The Land Slide Photography
  46. Take A Trip With Me! Please? | Mountains or Molehills
  47. Bring me home | Life is great
  48. Take five. | Hope* the happy hugger
  49. Lost at Sea | The Joyful Soul
  50. Bare Necessities | A Room of One’s Own
  51. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  52. Deserted Island! Five Items…?! | It’s my blog, innit…
  53. Sand, Serenity and Sadness (The Daily Prompt – Five Items) | Simply Silent
  54. Necessities | Rebecca Barray
  55. How To Avoid The Media In Five Easy Steps | Just Visiting This Planet
  56. Daily Prompt: 5 Items | eBook Sharing
  57. Oh the Priorities | The Pigeon Blog
  58. Five Items | The Nameless One
  59. My Five Items | emilykarn
  60. The Isle of Bliss | A.C. Melody
  61. Five Items | The Cutter Rambles
  62. My Desert Island Necessities | Poeme Sur Le Web Blog
  63. Five Items: Necessities – Free Shipping + $5 Discount Link – Khana’s Web @ Society6 | Khana’s Web
  64. Five items to bring to a deserted island | Words ‘n Pics
  65. Five Items: Necessities | My Conscious Self
  66. These Are Five of My Favorite Things
  67. Necessaties – Oh Now i Realised | Dreams to Reality !
  68. Staying in a less than 3 star hotel is as close to roughing it as I get. | thoughtsofrkh
  69. Be Prepared | djgarcia94
  70. Surfer Rob: King of the Island! | Rob’s Surf Report
  71. Deserted Island Wish List | Kansa Muse
  72. Daily Prompt: Five Items | kimmiecode :)
  73. Five Items | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  74. Daily Prompt: Five Items | Faerie Thoughts
  75. Daily Prompt: Five Items | standinginthestorm
  76. Need | Words on a Page
  77. Five Items | When the Words Won’t Come
  78. Five Items | Veronica Coons
  79. Five Things to Have in the Desert | maunderingsofaninja
  80. Daily Prompt: Five Items | On My Front Porch
  81. An Uncrowded Island | Charron’s Chatter
  82. Daily Prompt : On A Deserted Island | Scattered Thoughts
  83. Daily Prompt: Five Items | SIM | ANTICS
  84. Stranded on a Deserted Island? | Cheri Speak
  85. Five Items | Eldy’s

4 thoughts on “Necessities

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Five Items | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Surfer Rob: King of the Island! | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Thousand – No, Five Island | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Five items | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

